

44th Annual Governor's Conference on Energy and the Environment

October 13 & 14 Join us virtually

PRELIMINARY AGENDA

Setting a new course during unprecedented times: Working together to create solutions to meet today's energy, environmental and economic challenges.

October 13

8:30 a.m. Welcome,

Rebecca Goodman, Secretary of the Energy & Environment Cabinet

8:45 a.m. Keynote Address,

Governor Andy Beshear

9:15 a.m. Kentucky's Agritech Initiative: The Intersection of Kentucky's Environment & Economy

Moderator: Kenya Stump

• Laura Freeman, Founder of Laura's Lean Beef

Jackie Roberts, Chief Sustainability Officer of AppHarvest

Michael Baute, Director of Silicon Ranch's Regenerative Energy

Rick Price, Director of Global Environmental Stewardship at Beam Suntory

10:30 a.m. Break

10:45 a.m. Supporting the Local Economy through Energy Development & Environment

Moderator: Kari Johnson

• Amanda LeFevre, Deputy Commissioner, Department for Environmental Protection Creating Opportunity Through Brownfield Redevelopment

 Carson Harkrader, CEO of Carolina Solar Energy Solar Energy Development

 Kristina Slattery, Executive Director of Business Development, Cabinet for Economic Development

 Bob Scott, Director, Division of Abandoned Mine Lands AML Pilot Update

Chris Jones, Program Manager of Energize Kentucky
EPADs: How Solar & Energy Efficiency Projects are Getting Financed in Kentucky

12:30 p.m. Day 1 Adjourn

October 14

8:30 a.m. Opening remarks & EEC priorities

John Lyons, Deputy Secretary, Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet

8:45 a.m. Energy & Water Infrastructure

Moderator: Amanda LeFevre

- Amanda LeMaster, Energy Assurance and Efficiency Coordinator, Office of Energy Policy Energy Assurance Planning and Resilience Funding
- **Tom FitzGerald**, Director, Kentucky Resources Council *Energy and Water Security*
- Ashley Runyon, Assistant Director, Office of Energy Policy Complexities of Energy Affordability in the Commonwealth
- Mary Varson Cromer, Deputy Director, Appalachian Citizens' Law Center Environmental Justice and Water Affordability

10:00 a.m. Break

10:15 a.m. EEC Roundtable

Moderator: John Lyons

- Tony Hatton, Commissioner, Department for Environmental Protection
- Gordon Slone, Commissioner, Department for Natural Resources
- Zeb Weese, Executive Director, Office of Kentucky Nature Preserves
- Kenya Stump, Executive Director, Office of Energy Policy
- Larry Taylor, Environmental Scientist, Department for Environmental Protection

PSC Roundtable

Moderator: Lindsey Flora, Deputy Executive Director

- Michael J. Schmitt, Chairman
- Kent A. Chandler, Vice Chairman
- Talina R. Mathews, Commissioner

11:45 a.m. Kentucky Business Community Priorities

Kate Shanks, Vice President of Public Affairs, Kentucky Chamber of Commerce

12:30 p.m. Adjourn