

Andy Beshear
GOVERNOR

ENERGY AND ENVIRONMENT CABINET

Rebecca Goodman

300 Sower Boulevard Frankfort, Kentucky 40601 Phone: (502) 564-3350

November 20, 2023

Mr. Jay Hartz, Director Legislative Research Commission 700 Capital Ave. Frankfort, KY 40601

Dear Mr. Hartz:

The Kentucky General Assembly passed SJR79 in the 2023 Regular Session. The resolution directed the establishment of the Nuclear Energy Development Working Group and requires the working group to identify the barriers to the deployment of nuclear power generation and related technologies; to consult with stakeholders to develop recommendations for the role of a permanent nuclear energy commission to be established in state government. Additionally, the resolution directs the working group to submit a report to the Governor and to the Legislative Research Commission on or before December 1, 2023, detailing all work group activity since its establishment and providing recommendations for the creation of a permanent nuclear energy commission in state government.

The Kentucky Office of Energy Policy within the Energy and Environmental Cabinet coordinated the working group activities and provides the enclosed report to satisfy the directives under SJR79.

If you have any questions or would like additional information, please contact Mrs. Kenya Stump, Executive Director of the Kentucky Office of Energy Policy at 502-782-7083 or kenya.stump@ky.gov.

Sincerely,

Rebecca Goodman

Lakera W. Decknan

Secretary

cc:

Senior Advisor to the Governor, Mr. Rocky Adkins Chief of Staff to the Governor, Ms. La Tasha Buckner Executive Assistant to the LRC, Ms. Christy Glass

