



REBECCA W. GOODMAN
SECRETARY

ENERGY AND ENVIRONMENT CABINET

300 Sower Boulevard FRANKFORT, KENTUCKY 40601 TELEPHONE: 502-564-3350 TELEFAX: 502-564-7484

November 12, 2020

Ms. Mary Walker Regional Administrator U.S. EPA, Region 4 Sam Nunn Atlanta Federal Center 61 Forsyth Street, SW Atlanta, Georgia 30303-8960

RE: Update to Kentucky's Revised 2010 1-Hour SO₂ NAAQS Nonattainment Boundary

Recommendation for the Henderson and Webster County, Kentucky Area

Dear Ms. Walker:

On behalf of the Commonwealth of Kentucky, the Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet (Cabinet) respectfully submits to the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) an update to Kentucky's previously nonattainment boundary recommendations for the 2010 1-Hour SO₂ NAAQS, for the Henderson and Webster County, Kentucky area. This submittal contains updated information and supersedes the previous recommendations submitted to EPA on July 8, 2020 and October 14, 2020.

As stated in EPA's August 8, 2020 "120-day" letter and Technical Support Document, EPA intends to designate a larger portion of both Henderson and Webster counties than originally recommended by the Cabinet. The Cabinet disagrees with EPA's proposed boundary and has prepared the attached Technical Support Document (TSD) to support an updated boundary recommendation. The Cabinet requests that EPA designate the portions of Henderson and Webster counties, as identified in this most current submittal, as nonattainment. The Cabinet also recommends that the remaining areas of Henderson and Webster Counties be designated as attainment/unclassifiable.

If you have any questions or comments concerning this matter, please contact Mrs. Melissa Duff, Director, Division for Air Quality, at (502)782-6597 or melissa.duff@ky.gov.

Sincerely,

Rebecca W. Goodman

ogherra W. Deckman

Secretary

Cc: Caroline Freeman, Region 4 US EPA Lynorae Benjamin, Region 4 US EPA Scott Davis, Region 4 US EPA