

Andy Beshear GOVERNOR

ENERGY AND ENVIRONMENT CABINET

DEPARTMENT FOR ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

300 Sower Boulevard Frankfort, Kentucky 40601 Phone: (502) 564-2150 Fax: 502-564-4245

September 20, 2022

Rebecca Goodman

Anthony R. Hatton
COMMISSIONER

Mr. Daniel Blackman Regional Administrator U.S. EPA, Region 4 Sam Nunn Atlanta Federal Center 61 Forsyth Street, SW Atlanta, Georgia 30303

RE: Submittal of the Kentucky State Implementation Plan revision, requesting the redesignation of Boone, Campbell, and Kenton Counties to attainment for the 2015 8-hour ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS).

Dear Mr. Blackman:

The Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet (Cabinet) submits this letter as a revision to the Kentucky State Implementation Plan (SIP) for redesignation of the Cincinnati, OH-KY 2015 8-hour ozone nonattainment area. Specifically, the Cabinet has provided a submittal that addresses the five requirements of redesignation as outlined in Clean Air Act (CAA) section 107(d)(3)(E).

On August 3, 2018, EPA designated the Kentucky counties of Boone (partial), Campbell (partial), and Kenton (partial), and the Ohio counties of Butler, Clermont, Hamilton, and Warren as marginal nonattainment for the 2015 8-hour ozone NAAQS. The SIP revision requests that the Kentucky counties in the Cincinnati, OH-KY 2015 8-hour ozone nonattainment area be redesignated to attainment, due to improved air quality and attainment and maintenance of the ozone NAAQS. The maintenance plan demonstrates that volatile organic compounds (VOC) and nitrogen oxides (NOx) emissions are projected to decrease in the future, resulting in the continued attainment of the standard.

In accordance with 40 CFR 51.102, the SIP revision was available for public review and comment from June 13, 2022 until July 19, 2022. If you have any questions or comments regarding this matter, please contact Mr. Michael Kennedy, Director of the Division for Air Quality at (502) 782-6997, or Michael.Kennedy@ky.gov.

Sincerely,

John S. Lyons Deputy Secretary

John S. Lyenz II.

Authorized Designee for Rebecca W. Goodman, Secretary

