Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

​​​​​​​​Headquarters / Frankfort Office

Timothy  Fugate, Division Director

Division of Mine Safety

300 Sower Boulevard
P.O. Box 2244
Frankfort, KY 40601

(502) 782-6276 - Office
(502) 564-4245 - Fax

To facilitate the operations and duties of the Division of Mine Safety, the main office in Frankfort has divided the state into four branch offices strategically located in Harlan, Hazard, Madisonville and Pikeville.

Harlan Division of Mine Safety

Ernest Hawkins, Branch Manager

174 Ball Park Road
P.O. Box 836
Harlan, KY 40831

(606) 573-1260 - Office
(606) 573-1265 - Fax

Counties served: Bell, Breathitt, Clay, Harlan, Jackson, Knox, Lee, Leslie, Owsley, Pulaski and Whitley

Hazard Division of Mine Safety

Ralph Crawford, Branch Manager

556 Village Lane
P.O. Box 851
Hazard, KY 41702

(606) 435-6079 - Office
(606) 435-6078 - Fax

Counties served: Estill, Knott, Letcher, Madison, Perry, Powell and Wolfe

Madisonville Division of Mine Safety

Kenny Mitchell, Branch Manager

625 Hospital Drive
P.O. Box 521
Madisonville, KY 42431

(270) 824-7523 - Office
(270) 824-7526 - Fax

Counties served: Christian, Daviess, Henderson, Hopkins, McLean, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Union and Webster.

Pikeville Division of Mine Safety

James Tackett, Branch Manager

284 Weddington Branch Road
P.O. Box 3023
Pikeville, KY 41501

(606) 433-7742 - Office
(606) 433-7763 - Fax

Counties served: Boyd, Carter, Elliott, Floyd, Greenup, Johnson, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Morgan, Pike and Rowan.​


24-Hour Emergency Toll-Free Number

Whenever a serious physical injury or loss of life occurs in a mine or in the machinery connected therewith the mine foreman in charge of the mine or his designee, shall within 15 minutes of having actual knowledge of the occurrence and access to the communication system give notice to the department.

1-877-MINE-911  (1-877-646-3911)

Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet
300 Sower Blvd
Frankfort, KY 40601

Phone Directory
Contact Us
Civil Rights/Derecho Civiles

The Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet does not discriminate against any person on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, age, disability or sex. This policy protects the rights of Cabinet employees, service applicants and customers. Vendors, agencies and organizations providing services to the Cabinet or its recipients of federally-aided programs also must comply with this policy.