Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Who We Are and What We Do 

The Permit Review Branch issues air permits to regulated sources that emit air pollutants. Permits include requirements and enforceable conditions an owner or operator must follow to comply with applicable air standards.​

The Permit Review Branch is divided into the following specialized sections:

Permit Review Branch Management

Branch Manager: Michael.Kennedy@ky.gov

Administrative Assistant: Annabel.McKee@ky.gov

Environmental Scientist Consultant: Durga.Patil@ky.gov

Environmental Scientist Consultant: James.Morse@ky.gov 

Permit Support

This section reviews permits and permit applications for completeness, enters Pollutants of Concerns data, and ensures public notices are sent out, public hearings are scheduled and permitting packages are submitted to the source and to the EPA, as required.

Section Supervisor:  Shauna.Switzer@ky.gov 

Chemical Section

This section issues permits for chemical, petrochemical, plastic, resin, carbon and graphite industries.

Section Supervisor: Hollie.Delaney@ky.gov

Combustion Section

This section issues permits for power plants, distilleries, wood drying, food drying, charcoal, landfill gas-to-energy and bakeries.

Section Supervisor: Zachary.Bittner@ky.gov

Metallurgy Section

This section issues permits for primary, secondary and miscellaneous metal production (copper smelting, iron foundries, steel industry, aluminum, etc.) and landfills.

Section Supervisor: Amy.Tempus-Doom@ky.gov

Minerals Section

This section issues permits for nonmetallic minerals, coal, asphalt, concrete, lime and grain plants. 

Section Supervisor: Julian.Breckenridge@ky.gov

Surface Coating Section

This section issues permits for industries that use surface coating processes such as automobile and light duty trucks, large appliances, printing and publishing, metal furniture, paper, plastic parts and products, and wood and ship building.

Section Supervisor: Shufang.Yang@ky.gov