Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​A watershed conservancy district is a subdistrict of a conservation district. According to KRS 262.700, these districts are formed “for the purpose of developing and executing plans and programs relating to any phase of conservation of water, water usage, flood prevention, flood control, erosion prevention and control of erosion, floodwater and sediment damages.” 

Since 1944, NRCS and local sponsors have built some 10,400 small watershed dams in the United States. Kentucky’s watershed program includes about 200 dams in 32 watershed projects, which were constructed between the mid 1950’s through 2009. These were primarily constructed under the authority of PL 566. These dams were constructed to provide benefits such as flood control, rural water supply, recreation, and wildlife habitat.  Most of these dams are sponsored and maintained by the watershed conservancy districts. 

​Kentucky has 38 watershed conservancy districts spanning across the state. The majority of the watershed conservancy districts are concentrated in the westernmost part of Kentucky. Each watershed conservancy district has a board of directors who oversee the operations of the district.  Watershed conservancy districts that are within the boundary of a single county have 5 directors on their boards.  Watershed conservancy districts that are in multiple districts have an additional 3 directors for each additional county.

Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet
300 Sower Blvd
Frankfort, KY 40601

Phone Directory
Contact Us
Civil Rights/Derecho Civiles

The Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet does not discriminate against any person on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, age, disability or sex. This policy protects the rights of Cabinet employees, service applicants and customers. Vendors, agencies and organizations providing services to the Cabinet or its recipients of federally-aided programs also must comply with this policy.