Skip to main navigation Skip to main content
Kentucky Ridge State Forest sign

The division owns and manages 10 state forests Big River, Green River, Pennyrile, Marrowbone, KY Ridge, Kentenia, Tygarts, Rolleigh Peterson, Knobs and Marion County -  with a combined total of 48,591 acres.

The state forest properties are managed using the ecosystem management approach to ensure biological diversity and sustainable use.  They are working forests and educational demonstration areas exist in each.

Recent additions to the state forestry property have been provided by the Forest Legacy Program and the Kentucky Heritage Land Conservation Fund. Revenue from the fund comes from a percentage of the state's portion of the unmined minerals tax, environmental penalties and state nature license plate sales. The division continues to seek new properties to add to the state forest program.