Skip to main navigation Skip to main content
Mine Safety
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The Kentucky Division of Mine Safety

The mission of Kentucky Division of Mine Safety is to ensure all coal miners in the Commonwealth are provided with a safe working environment; to provide effective education and training to coal miners to foster safe work practices; and to ensure that statutes and regulations regarding coal mining are enforced fairly and consistently throughout the Commonwealth.

Safety, training and enforcement help to make Kentucky coal mines safe for all miners.  Keeping this at the forefront of the Divisions endeavors, Mine Safety will continue its efforts in protecting the coal industries number one resource, The Miner.

Kentucky Safety Milestone

The Energy and Environment Cabinet is pleased to announce a significant safety milestone in the Kentucky coal industry. The industry achieved a safety record of zero fatalities for the calendar year 2023. This achievement marks the first time in the history of the Kentucky Division of Mine Safety that the coal industry has marked such a record.  The industry has actually accomplished a 21-month record with no fatalities since March 20, 2022. 

The Cabinet extends its congratulations to the entire industry for their work in reaching this milestone. The industry's partnership and collaboration with the Cabinet's Division of Mine Safety and the Mine Safety and Health Administration, have helped to prioritize the well-being and safety of our miners. 

The Cabinet acknowledges and appreciates the tireless work, training, and resources invested by each and every individual and corporate partner in the coal industry. Your contributions have made a significant difference, and this unprecedented safety record could not have been achieved without your support. 

The Cabinet remains dedicated to continuing an exceptional safety record and to continuously improving the Division of Mine Safety's contribution to safety standards. We value our partnership with the coal industry and are committed to working collaboratively to create an even safer environment for all miners. 

Once again, thank you for your integral role in this remarkable achievement.  

With Profound Appreciation, 

​Timothy L. Fugate, Division Director

Mine Safety Review Commission Meeting Notice

The Kentucky Mine Safety Review Commission (MSRC) JUNE meeting will take place at 9:00 a.m., Eastern ​Time, June 13, 2024,  in-person at 211 Sower Blvd., Frankfort, KY, and virtually by video teleconference through Zoom Meeting or by telephone.  You can access this meeting from your computer, tablet or smartphone via​ or by telephone:  +1 (929) 205-6099   Meeting ID: 834 2277 5472 Passcode:  334180​​.  Interested parties/members of the public are encouraged to view th​is meeting remotely.

Should you have any questions or concerns, please contact Brittany Price, Division of Mine Safety and Mine Safety Review Commission, Energy and Environment Cabinet, Department for Natural Resources at (502) 782-6711.


24-Hour Emergency Toll-Free Number

When a serious physical injury or loss of life occurs, within fifteen (15) minutes of having actual knowledge of the occurrence of the accident as defined in 30 C.F.R. sec. 50.2(h)(1) to (9), and having access to the communication system as required under KRS 352.630(3) is to be given to the department and to the representative of the miner, stating the particulars of the accident.

1-877-MINE-911  (1-877-646-3911)

Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet
300 Sower Blvd
Frankfort, KY 40601

Phone Directory
Contact Us
Civil Rights/Derecho Civiles

The Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet does not discriminate against any person on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, age, disability or sex. This policy protects the rights of Cabinet employees, service applicants and customers. Vendors, agencies and organizations providing services to the Cabinet or its recipients of federally-aided programs also must comply with this policy.