Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

​​​The policies under which the division operates are set by the Kentucky Soil and Water Conservation Commission.  This commission is made up of nine district supervisors from across the state appointed to serve by the secretary of the Energy and Environment Cabinet, with approval from the governor.  The commission members have the responsibility to assist local conservation districts in carrying out their responsibilities.


  • Area 1: Vacancy
  • Area 2: Vacancy
  • Area 3: Danny Shipley, Chair (Allen County)
  • Area 4: Bill Harned (Bullitt County)
  • Area 5: Jim Morris (Grant County)
  • Area 6: Billy Doolin (Garrard County)
  • Area 7: Aaron Lewis (Bell County)
  • Area 8: Lenville Martin (Floyd County)
  • Area 9: Denise Hoffman (Owsley County)

Commission Advisory Members

  • Secretary of the Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet
  • Kentucky Commissioner of Agriculture 
  • Director of the Kentucky Agricultural Experiment Station 
  • Director of Kentucky Vocational Education 
  • Kentucky State Conservationist for U.S. Department of Agriculture  

Upcoming Commission Meetings

Unless otherwise specified, meetings will be held by videoconference at 9:00 am.  Join Zoom meeting 845 5362 3580, passcode SWCC.  Dates are as follows:

  • Jan. 24 (Joint meeting with KACD)
  • Apr. 18
  • July 11
  • Sept. 19
  • Nov. 21