Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Please be aware – due to COVID-19 and in keeping with the practice of preventative measures the Mine Safety Review Commission (MSRC) meeting scheduled for Thursday, March 19, 2020 has been cancelled.  The next meeting date has not yet been determined.  Should you have any questions or concerns, please contact Beth Spivey-Minch, Division of Mine Safety and Mine Safety Review Commission, Energy and Environment Cabinet, Department for Natural Resources at 502-782-6711.


Recognizing that the highest priority and concern of the Commonwealth must be the health and safety of the coal industry's most valuable resource - the miner - resulted in the creation of the Mine Safety Review Commission (MSRC) KRS 351.1041.

The three-member commission, each of whom is required to meet the criteria of a Court of Appeals Judge is appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Kentucky General Assembly.

The commission conducts hearings concerning licensed premises and both certified and noncertified personnel involved in coal mining, who are charged with willful and repeated violations of Kentucky's mine safety laws and placing miners in imminent danger of serious injury or death.

Therefore, the Mine Safety Review Commission is charged with conducting hearings and issuing orders regarding licensees, coal operations and other persons involved in the mining of coal in accordance with KRS 351.194. Administrative complaints are filed with the MSRC by the Kentucky Division of Mine Safety. Hearings are held in accordance with KRS Chapter 13B.

Mine Safety Review Commission
300 Sower Blvd.
Frankfort, KY 40601

Phone: 502-782-6711
Fax: 502-564-4245