Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​In addition to forest fire hazard seasons and outdoor burning regulations enforced by the Kentucky Division of Forestry (KDF), the Kentucky Division for Air Quality and the Kentucky Division of Waste Management, further restrictions may be initiated at the local level through county burn bans and local ordinances. County burn bans are issued by the county judge-executive and are enforced with assistance from local law enforcement.  Violation of a burning ban is a misdemeanor punishable by law.

Burn bans generally prohibit the following:

  1. Burning of forest, grass, crops, woodlands, marshes or other similar areas.
  2. Burning leaves or debris.
  3. Campfires, bonfires and warming fires.
  4. Open pit cooking and charcoal grilling.
  5. Use of fireworks and welding may also be prohibited or regulated.

Current Burn Bans​

The following is a list of counties with a burn ban in effect.  These are the counties known to the division.  County Judge-Executives can issue local burn bans under KRS 149.401. The division isn't always notified when a burn ban is issued. Therefore, it is always best to check with your local fire department or your county judge-e​xecutive's office.


Boyd (ending 9/30)


Greenup (ending 9/30)



​Mason (for 30 days from issue 9/22)